Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) · checked 2026-10-21
Idaho HVAC License Requirements
Statewide HVAC apprentice, journeyman and contractor licenses issued by DOPL for the Idaho HVAC Board under Idaho Code chapter 50 of title 54. The board moves to two-year licensing on October 30, 2026, which may change the fees and renewal cycle. HVAC contractor: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
- 1J · HVAC journeyman time not stated
- 2C · HVAC contractor time not stated
License levels in Idaho
The Idaho path has 2 steps on this page: HVAC journeyman and HVAC contractor.
| Level | Experience | Classroom | Time from start | Exam | Fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| J HVAC journeyman | none stated | — | time not stated | Yes (PSI) | Application $35; Initial license (three years) $150 |
| C HVAC contractor | none stated | — | time not stated | Not stated | Application $35; Initial license (three years) $225 |
HVAC journeyman (J)
An HVAC apprentice may take the journeyman exam after completing the required related instruction and working the number of hours the HVAC Board prescribes by rule; the statute does not print the hours. Exams are given by PSI. Source: Idaho Code § 54-5010, HVAC examinations.
HVAC contractor (C)
Licensed by the HVAC Board; the DOPL pages read do not state the contractor's experience requirement. Source: Idaho DOPL, HVAC Board licensing.
Exam
1 of the 2 levels listed here requires an exam: HVAC journeyman. The source does not print a pass mark. Testing vendor named: PSI.
Fees
- HVAC journeyman: application $35, initial license (three years) $150 ($185 together).
- HVAC contractor: application $35, initial license (three years) $225 ($260 together).
Renewal is $75 for journeymen and $150 for contractors. The PSI exam page shows a $75 exam fee. Fee source: Idaho DOPL, HVAC Board licensing.
Reciprocity
The Idaho sources read for this trade name no reciprocity agreement and no route for out-of-state licensees.
How Idaho compares
Idaho's source states no minimum time for the hvac contractor, so it is not ranked against the other states on this site.
Same trade elsewhere: California · Texas · Florida · Ohio · Georgia. All states side by side: HVAC license requirements by state.
Other trades in Idaho
- General contractor: Idaho uses a contractor registration for general contractors, not a skills license.
All covered trades on one page: Idaho trade licenses.
Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · What the license fees add up to.
Questions
Who issues the hvac license in Idaho?
Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL), HVAC Board. Statewide HVAC apprentice, journeyman and contractor licenses issued by DOPL for the Idaho HVAC Board under Idaho Code chapter 50 of title 54. The board moves to two-year licensing on October 30, 2026, which may change the fees and renewal cycle.
How long does it take to qualify for the HVAC contractor in Idaho?
The source read (Idaho DOPL, HVAC Board licensing) states no minimum time for the HVAC contractor. Licensed by the HVAC Board; the DOPL pages read do not state the contractor's experience requirement.
Does Idaho have hvac license reciprocity?
The Idaho sources read name no reciprocity agreement for this trade.
What are the Idaho hvac license fees?
HVAC journeyman: application $35, initial license (three years) $150. HVAC contractor: application $35, initial license (three years) $225.
Sources and last checked
| What | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Issuing authority | Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL), HVAC Board | 2026-10-21 |
| J requirements | Idaho Code § 54-5010, HVAC examinations | 2026-10-21 |
| C requirements | Idaho DOPL, HVAC Board licensing | 2026-10-21 |
| Law cited | Idaho Code title 54, chapter 50 (§ 54-5010) | 2026-10-21 |
This page summarises what the Idaho source said on 2026-10-21. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.