Skip to the page content
License by Trade

Home / License renewal

7 renewal rules · checked 2026-10-25

Trade license renewal by state

License renewal rules for trade and state pairs whose board publishes its renewal cycle and continuing education (CE) hours on a page that could be read on the checked date. Each figure is copied from the board page or rule named beside it. Where the page read does not print a value, the record leaves it empty and the page says so.

1234
  1. 1Renewal cycle 3 years
  2. 2CE hours 21 h per 3 years
  3. 3Renewal fee $78 to $117
  4. 4Late fee not printed
State and tradeCycleCE hours (main license)Renewal fee
Massachusetts electrical3 years21 per 3 years$78 to $117
Massachusetts plumbing2 years12 per 2 years$40 to $225
Texas electrical1 year4 per year$30 to $45
Texas plumbing1 year6 per yearnot printed
Connecticut electricalnot stated4 per yearnot printed
Connecticut plumbing2 years5 per 2 yearsnot printed
Michigan residential builder and M&A3 years21 per 3 years (first licensed 2009 or later)not printed
South Carolina mechanical contractor2 yearsnone in the statute read$135
MA electrical7 h a yearMI builder7 h a yearMA plumbing6 h a yearTX plumbing6 h a yearTX electrical4 h a yearCT electrical4 h a yearCT plumbing2.5 h a year
Continuing education hours a year for the heaviest license type in each renewal rule read, cycle hours divided by cycle years. Bars are to scale.

How to read these rules

Boards set three things at renewal: how long a license lasts, how many hours of continuing education must be completed in that time, and the fee. They do not line up from state to state. Massachusetts electricians renew every three years with 21 hours; Texas electricians renew every year with 4. The chart divides each rule's hours by its years so the load can be compared, but the deadline still matters more than the average: hours taken after the cut-off do not count toward that renewal.

Most boards also set a lower requirement, or none, for some licenses: apprentices, limited licenses, contractors whose qualifier holds the individual license, or a license issued close to the renewal date. Each state page lists those exemptions as the board prints them.

Massachusetts electrical

Massachusetts electrical licenses renew every 3 years. Master (Class A) and journeyman (Class B) electricians need 21 hours of continuing education every 3 years, and the renewal fee is $78 to $117 depending on the license. Massachusetts electrical license renewal details.

Massachusetts plumbing

Massachusetts plumbing licenses renew every 2 years. Journeyman and master plumbers need 12 hours of continuing education every 2 years, and the renewal fee is $40 to $225 depending on the license. Massachusetts plumbing license renewal details.

Texas electrical

Texas electrical licenses renew every year. Master, journeyman, journeyman industrial, journeyman lineman, residential wireman, maintenance, master sign, journeyman sign, apprentice and apprentice sign electricians need 4 hours of continuing education each year, and the renewal fee is $30 to $45 depending on the license. Texas electrical license renewal details.

Texas plumbing

Texas plumbing licenses renew every year. Master plumbers (with or without the responsible master plumber designation), journeyman plumbers and tradesman plumber-limited need 6 hours of continuing education each year; the pages read print no renewal fee. Texas plumbing license renewal details.

Connecticut electrical

Connecticut electrical licenses renew on a schedule the CE page does not state. Licensed electricians need 4 hours of continuing education each year; the pages read print no renewal fee. Connecticut electrical license renewal details.

Connecticut plumbing

Connecticut plumbing licenses renew every 2 years. Plumbing and piping unlimited contractors need 5 hours of continuing education every 2 years; the pages read print no renewal fee. Connecticut plumbing license renewal details.

Not covered yet

  • Florida electrical and plumbing contractor renewal. The DBPR board pages were not reached in this run; only commercial course sellers came up in search.
  • Texas plumbing renewal fees. The TSBPE pages read give the CE hours and the annual term but print no renewal fee.
  • Renewal for the other trade and state pairs on this site. Not researched in this run. Each state's trade page still lists the initial license requirements.

Initial license requirements for every trade and state: electrician · plumber · HVAC · general contractor.

General information from the board pages on 2026-10-25, not legal advice. Verify with the board before renewing.