Skip to the page content
License by Trade

Home / Electrician / Journeyman

23 states · each from the state board · checked 2026-10-21

Journeyman electrician requirements by state

What each state asks before it issues a journeyman electrician license: the experience hours or years, classroom hours, the exam and the fees, read from the licensing board's page or the statute. The shortest stated path here is California at 4 years; the longest is Hawaii at 5 years.

1234
  1. 1States with a journeyman level 23
  2. 2Shortest stated time California, 4 years
  3. 3Longest stated time Hawaii, 5 years
  4. 4Exam required 22 of 23
StateLevelExperienceClassroomExamFees printed
AlabamaJourneyman electriciannot stated—Yes$150
ArkansasJourneyman electriciannot stated—Yes—
CaliforniaGeneral Electrician certification (DIR)8,000 hours720 hYes—
ConnecticutUnlimited Electrical Journeyperson8,000 hours over at least 4 years720 hYes—
DelawareJourneyperson electrician8,000 hours—Yes—
HawaiiJourney worker electrician10,000 hours over at least 5 years240 hYes$40
IowaClass A journeyman electriciannot stated—Yes—
KentuckyElectrician8,000 hours—Not stated—
MaineJourneyman Electrician8,000 hours576 hYes$171
MarylandJourneyperson electrician4 years—Yes$18.50
MassachusettsJourneyman Electrician8,000 hours over at least 4 years600 hYes$270
MichiganElectrical Journeyman8,000 hours over at least 4 years—Yes—
MinnesotaClass A journeyworker electrician4 years—Yes$70
MontanaJourneyman electrician8,000 hours—Yes—
New HampshireJourneyman Electrician8,000 hours600 hYes—
North DakotaJourneyman electrician8,000 hours over at least 3 years—Yes—
OklahomaUnlimited electrical journeyman8,000 hours—Yes—
OregonGeneral journeyman electrician4 years—Yes—
Rhode IslandJourneyperson Electrician (Certificate B)not stated—Yes$72
TexasJourneyman Electrician8,000 hours—Yes$30
VermontJourneyman Electriciannot stated—Yes$115
VirginiaJourneyman Electrician Tradesman4 years240 hYes$150
WashingtonJourney level electrician8,000 hours—Yes—
California4 yearsConnecticut4 yearsDelaware4 yearsKentucky4 yearsMaine4 yearsMaryland4 yearsMassachusetts4 yearsMichigan4 yearsMinnesota4 yearsMontana4 yearsNew Hampshire4 yearsNorth Dakota4 yearsOklahoma4 yearsOregon4 yearsTexas4 yearsVirginia4 yearsWashington4 yearsHawaii5 years
Minimum years from the start of the trade to the journeyman electrician level in each state that states one (2,000 hours counted as a full-time year). Bars are to scale.

What the numbers show

23 states on this site issue a journeyman-level electrician license. 14 of them write the experience in hours, and the most common figure is 8,000 hours, which 13 states use; at the site's 2,000-hours-a-year convention that is 4 full-time years. The rest state years, and a few state neither on the page read. 22 of the 23 require an exam for the journeyman level.

7 states print a classroom requirement, from 240 hours (Hawaii) to 720 hours (Connecticut). Others count trade school or apprenticeship credit inside the experience figure or leave it to board rules. 10 print a dollar figure for the journeyman application, exam or license; the others leave fees to a separate schedule.

State by state

Alabama, Journeyman electrician. Pass the board's journeyman exam (paper or online application) and file form EC-1. The board's licensing page states no experience hours or years.

Arkansas, Journeyman electrician. Apply through the board's online portal to take the electrical exam. The board's licensing page does not print the experience hours; they are in the board's administrative rules, which were not read.

California, General Electrician certification (DIR) (4 years from the start). 8,000 hours of on-the-job experience and 720 hours of related and supplemental instruction as a registered trainee, then the certification exam (8 CCR § 291.2(g)). Persons performing work as an electrician under a C-10 licensed contractor must be certified.

Connecticut, Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson (4 years from the start). Completion of a registered apprenticeship program or at least four years of equivalent experience and training. DCP's equivalent-experience page lists 720 classroom hours and 8,000 on-the-job training hours for the E-2, and says classroom hours are required.

Delaware, Journeyperson electrician (4 years from the start). At least 20 years old, and either a board-approved apprenticeship with its final exam (the state exam is then waived) or more than 8,000 hours of full-time electrical work and the written standardized exam.

Hawaii, Journey worker electrician (5 years from the start). Five years and not less than 10,000 hours in residential or commercial wiring, plus 240 hours of electrical academic coursework accepted by a University of Hawaii community college (HRS § 448E-5). Exam on the National Electrical Code, given through PSI.

Iowa, Class A journeyman electrician. Completion of an apprenticeship training program registered with the Office of Apprenticeship, or training and experience set by board rule; then an exam based on the most recent National Electrical Code and electrical theory. The section states no hours for the Class A route.

Kentucky, Electrician (4 years from the start). 8,000 hours of verifiable experience in the electrical trade since the applicant's sixteenth birthday; certain training or teaching credentials can each substitute for 4,000 hours.

Maine, Journeyman Electrician (4 years from the start). At least 8,000 hours as a licensed apprentice or helper and a 576-hour program (45-hour courses in Electricity I and II, Math I, Controls I and the current National Electrical Code, plus electives). Other routes: an approved apprenticeship plus 4,000 hours, or a two-year electrical program plus 7,000 hours.

Maryland, Journeyperson electrician (4 years from the start). At least four years of experience under a master electrician or a similarly qualified government employee; work in a completed approved apprenticeship program is credited. Exam on the current NEC through PSI.

Massachusetts, Journeyman Electrician (4 years from the start). 600 hours of Board-approved education and 8,000 hours of work over at least four years under a licensed Massachusetts journeyman.

Michigan, Electrical Journeyman (4 years from the start). At least 20 years old with at least 8,000 hours of experience obtained over at least 4 years under a licensed individual. Failing the exam twice in 2 years means a one-year wait and a Michigan electrical code course. MCL 339.5715.

Minnesota, Class A journeyworker electrician (4 years from the start). At least four years of experience acceptable to the commissioner; one year of credit may be allowed for an approved two-year post-high-school electrical course. Then the license exam.

Montana, Journeyman electrician (4 years from the start). 8,000 hours of legally obtained practical experience (or at least 20,000 hours of employer-certified electrical maintenance work including at least 8,000 hours of practical experience), then an exam of at least 60 questions.

New Hampshire, Journeyman Electrician (4 years from the start). 8,000 hours of service as an apprentice electrician, at least 600 hours of board-approved education and a board-approved examination (RSA 319-C:7, II). The Board's page gives the journeyman exam pass mark as 70%.

North Dakota, Journeyman electrician (4 years from the start). 8,000 hours installing and repairing electrical wiring, gained over at least three years; apprentices registered after January 31, 2008 also need approved apprenticeship training or a board-approved course of at least two years. Then the board's technical and practical exam.

Oklahoma, Unlimited electrical journeyman (4 years from the start). 8,000 verifiable on-the-job hours as a registered apprentice under a licensed journeyman or contractor, 4,000 of them commercial or industrial; up to 2,000 hours may be formal electrical education verified by transcript. After approval, the exam is booked with a third-party testing vendor.

Oregon, General journeyman electrician (4 years from the start). At least four years of general experience as an apprentice or its equivalent, including at least 1,000 hours of wiring on single or multifamily dwellings; or two years as a limited residential electrician plus two more years of apprentice-level commercial and industrial experience. Then the board's written exam.

Rhode Island, Journeyperson Electrician (Certificate B). Pass an examination before the Division of Professional Regulation (§ 5-6-9). Apprentices must first complete an applicable registered apprenticeship program in Rhode Island, shown by transcripts and work record books (§ 5-6-24.2). The statute sections read state no hour count.

Texas, Journeyman Electrician (4 years from the start). At least 7,000 hours of on-the-job training under a Texas-licensed master electrician to apply, and the full 8,000 hours before the license is issued.

Vermont, Journeyman Electrician. Verification by the Vermont Apprenticeship Council of a completed apprenticeship in electrical wiring, or equivalent training and experience acceptable to the Board, and an examination. The statute states no hour count. 26 V.S.A. § 903.

Virginia, Journeyman Electrician Tradesman (4 years from the start). One of seven education and experience pairings: 240 hours of formal vocational training in the trade with four years of practical experience (the route used for the time shown here); 160 hours with five years; 80 hours with six years; 40 hours with seven years; no formal training with eight years; an associate degree or two-year certificate with two years; or a bachelor's degree in a related engineering curriculum with one year. Then the board-approved exam.

Washington, Journey level electrician (4 years from the start). Completion of an 8,000-hour electrical construction apprenticeship, of which 4,000 hours must be new industrial or commercial installations, or the out-of-state, military or 16,000-hour out-of-state experience routes in the statute. A two-year public community or technical college program may substitute for up to two years of work experience. L&I confirms eligibility and then sends exam instructions.

States with no journeyman level on this site

Florida (Certified Electrical Contractor), Ohio (Electrical Contractor (commercial)), Georgia (Electrical Contractor Class II (Non-restricted)), North Carolina (Unlimited Electrical Contractor), Arizona (Electrical contractor (C-11, R-11, CR-11)), Louisiana (Commercial license, electrical classification), Nevada (Classification C contractor, electrical subclassification), South Carolina (Mechanical contractor, Electrical classification), Tennessee (Contractor license, electrical (CE)): the sources read for these states license the contracting business or a single level, so there is no separate journeyman step to list.

Every level, from apprentice to master: Electrician license requirements by state · how long the path to master takes · license renewal rules.

General information from the state sources on 2026-10-21, not legal advice. Verify with the state board before applying.