Home / Electrician / Kentucky

Kentucky Department of Housing · checked 2026-10-21

Kentucky Electrician License Requirements

Statewide electrician and master electrician licenses issued by HBC under KRS Chapter 227A. Master electrician: 8 years of experience at minimum.

12
  1. 1E · Electrician 4 years
  2. 2ME · Master electrician 8 years
Issued by
Kentucky Department of Housing
Top credential
Master electrician
Time to top
8 years
Exams
none listed
Reciprocity
none named

License levels in Kentucky

The Kentucky path has 2 steps on this page: Electrician and Master electrician. The source counts experience in hours; the "time from start" column turns those hours into full-time years at 2,000 hours a year.

LevelExperienceClassroomTime from startExamFees
E Electrician8,000 hours—4 yearsNot statedNot printed
ME Master electrician16,000 hours—8 yearsNot statedNot printed
E4 yearsME8 years
Years from the start of the trade to each Kentucky electrician level, from the hours and years in the source (2,000 hours counted as one full-time year). Bars are to scale.

Electrician (E)

8,000 hours of verifiable experience in the electrical trade since the applicant's sixteenth birthday; certain training or teaching credentials can each substitute for 4,000 hours. Source: KRS 227A.060, Qualifications for licensure.

Master electrician (ME)

16,000 hours of verifiable experience in the electrical trade since the applicant's sixteenth birthday; an associate degree or diploma in electrical technology or a related field can substitute for 6,000 hours. Source: KRS 227A.060, Qualifications for licensure.

Exam

The Kentucky source lists no exam for this credential. The section read sets the experience hours; exam rules are in other sections of KRS 227A that were not read.

Fees

The Kentucky source read prints no dollar amounts for this license. KRS 227A.060 prints no fees.

Reciprocity

The Kentucky sources read for this trade name no reciprocity agreement and no route for out-of-state licensees.

How Kentucky compares

Among the 24 states on this site that state a minimum time to the top electrician credential, Kentucky ranks 21 of 24 from shortest (2 years) to longest (9 years). Montana and Oregon set the same 8 years.

South Carolina2 yearsNew Hampshire4 yearsCalifornia4 yearsFlorida4 yearsGeorgia4 yearsArizona4 yearsDelaware4 yearsNevada4 yearsWashington4 yearsMassachusetts5 yearsOhio5 yearsMinnesota5 yearsNorth Dakota5 yearsVirginia5 yearsConnecticut6 yearsMaine6 yearsTexas6 yearsMichigan6 yearsOklahoma6 yearsMaryland7 yearsKentucky8 yearsMontana8 yearsOregon8 yearsHawaii9 years
Minimum years to the top electrician credential in each state that states one; Kentucky highlighted. Bars are to scale; states whose source gives no floor are not drawn.

Same trade elsewhere: California · Texas · Florida · Ohio · Georgia. All states side by side: Electrician license requirements by state.

Other trades in Kentucky

All covered trades on one page: Kentucky trade licenses.

Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · How trade license exams work.

Questions

Who issues the electrician license in Kentucky?

Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (HBC), Division of Electrical. Statewide electrician and master electrician licenses issued by HBC under KRS Chapter 227A.

How long does it take to qualify for the Master electrician in Kentucky?

8 years by this site's count. 16,000 hours of verifiable experience in the electrical trade since the applicant's sixteenth birthday; an associate degree or diploma in electrical technology or a related field can substitute for 6,000 hours.

Does Kentucky have electrician license reciprocity?

The Kentucky sources read name no reciprocity agreement for this trade.

Sources and last checked

WhatSourceChecked
Issuing authorityKentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (HBC), Division of Electrical2026-10-21
E requirementsKRS 227A.060, Qualifications for licensure2026-10-21
ME requirementsKRS 227A.060, Qualifications for licensure2026-10-21
Law citedKRS 227A.0602026-10-21

This page summarises what the Kentucky source said on 2026-10-21. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with Kentucky Department of Housing before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.