Home / HVAC / How to get licensed
How to get an HVAC license
Getting licensed in heating and air conditioning usually means two separate credentials. The federal one is EPA Section 608 certification, needed by technicians who work on equipment that could release refrigerant, in every state. The state one depends on where you work: of the 21 states on this site with an HVAC page, 8 license the individual worker, 11 license HVAC only at the contractor level, and Maine and New Hampshire license fuel gas or oil burner work rather than HVAC as a whole.
- 1EPA 608 (refrigerant) every state
- 2States licensing the worker 8
- 3States licensing only contractors 11
- 4State exam required 21 of 21
The steps in order
- What the state licenses. In a worker-license state (for example Connecticut) the person holds a journeyman, master or technician license. In a contractor-only state (for example Arizona) the state license is a contractor license, held by the business or the person who qualifies it, and what the individual worker needs, if anything, is set out in that state's source. The table below sorts every state on this site into one of the three groups.
- EPA Section 608 certification is required of technicians who, among other things, attach gauges to measure pressure or add or remove refrigerant. Apprentices are exempt while they are "closely and continually supervised by a certified technician." The test is given by an EPA-approved certifying organization, in four types listed below.
- Experience. Among the 13 states here that state a minimum time to the first HVAC credential a person can hold (Maine and New Hampshire, which license fuel work instead, are not counted), it runs from 2 years in South Carolina to 5 years in Ohio. Hours are converted at 2,000 a full-time year, the convention Georgia's board prints.
- The state exam. 21 of the 21 states require an exam for at least one HVAC level; each state page names the levels that do.
- Running a business. The contractor-level credential is held by the business or its qualifying person. In the contractor-only states that print an experience figure, 4 years is the most common, in 5 of 11. Louisiana, South Carolina and Tennessee apply the contractor license only above a job value; their rules are quoted below.
What each state licenses
| State | Who is licensed | First credential | Time to it | Exam |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona | Contractor only | Air conditioning and refrigeration contractor (C-39, R-39, CR-39) | 4 years | Yes |
| California | Contractor only | C-20 Warm-Air Heating, Ventilating and Air-Conditioning Contractor | 4 years | Yes |
| Connecticut | The worker | Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Journeyperson | not stated | Yes |
| Delaware | The worker | Master HVACR | 2 years + | Yes |
| Florida | Contractor only | Class B Air-Conditioning Contractor | 4 years | Yes |
| Georgia | Contractor only | Conditioned Air Contractor Class I (Restricted) | 4 years | Yes |
| Idaho | The worker | HVAC journeyman | not stated | Yes |
| Iowa | The worker | Journeyperson (HVAC) | 4 years | Yes |
| Louisiana | Contractor only | Commercial license, mechanical classification | not stated | Yes |
| Maine | Fuel work only | Journeyman oil burner or solid fuel technician | 1 year | Yes |
| Maryland | The worker | HVACR journeyman | 4 years | Yes |
| Massachusetts | The worker | Refrigeration Technician | 3 years | Yes |
| Michigan | Contractor only | Mechanical Contractor (per classification) | 3 years | Yes |
| New Hampshire | Fuel work only | Fuel Gas Piping Installer | 6 months | Yes |
| North Carolina | Contractor only | Heating Group No. 3 | up to 2 years | Yes |
| Ohio | Contractor only | HVAC Contractor (commercial) | 5 years | Yes |
| Oklahoma | The worker | Mechanical journeyman | 3 years | Yes |
| South Carolina | Contractor only | Mechanical contractor, Air Conditioning or Heating classification | 2 years | Yes |
| Tennessee | Contractor only | Contractor license, HVAC (CMC or CMC-C classification) | not stated | Yes |
| Texas | Contractor only | ACR Contractor, Class B | 4 years | Yes |
| Virginia | The worker | Journeyman HVAC Tradesman | 4 years | Yes |
"+" means the source states time at this level on top of an earlier level whose own time it does not print. "Up to" means the statute caps what the board may demand rather than setting a floor (North Carolina).
EPA Section 608: the federal refrigerant certification
Technicians who work on equipment that could release refrigerants must be certified. EPA's definition of a technician includes a person who attaches and detaches hoses and gauges to and from an appliance to measure pressure within it, or adds refrigerant to or removes refrigerant from an appliance. Apprentices are exempt while they are "closely and continually supervised by a certified technician." Tests must be administered by an EPA-approved certifying organization. A core test taken open book cannot be used toward Universal certification; for Universal, the core test must be taken as a proctored exam. Section 608 Technician Certification credentials do not expire.
| Type | What it covers |
|---|---|
| Type I | Servicing small appliances. |
| Type II | Servicing or disposing of high- or very high-pressure appliances, except small appliances and motor vehicle air conditioners. |
| Type III | Servicing or disposing of low-pressure appliances. |
| Universal | Servicing all types of equipment. |
Sources: EPA, Section 608 Technician Certification Requirements (updated July 15, 2026); EPA, Types of Technician Certification (updated July 15, 2026). Read 2026-10-26.
States that license the worker
Connecticut: Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Journeyperson, then Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Contractor. Statewide heating, piping and cooling license. S-1 contractors may do all heating, piping and cooling work as defined in Conn. Gen. Stat. § 20-330; narrower D, B, G and S classes cover warm air and refrigeration, burners, gas, and smaller buildings. Issued by Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, Occupational and Professional Licensing Division.
Delaware: Master HVACR. Statewide master HVACR license issued under 24 Del. C. chapter 18, subchapter III. The subchapter read covers the master license only. Issued by Delaware Division of Professional Regulation, Board of Plumbing, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Examiners.
Idaho: HVAC journeyman, then HVAC contractor. Statewide HVAC apprentice, journeyman and contractor licenses issued by DOPL for the Idaho HVAC Board under Idaho Code chapter 50 of title 54. The board moves to two-year licensing on October 30, 2026, which may change the fees and renewal cycle. Issued by Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL), HVAC Board.
Iowa: Journeyperson (HVAC), then Contractor (HVAC). Statewide journeyperson, master and contractor licenses in the HVAC discipline under Iowa Code chapter 105, which covers plumbing and mechanical systems (HVAC, refrigeration, sheet metal and hydronic). Issued by Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL), Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board.
Maryland: HVACR journeyman, then HVACR master. Statewide HVACR licenses under Business Regulation Article 9A and COMAR 09.15: apprentice, journeyman, limited, master restricted and master. Issued by Maryland State Board of Heating, Ventilation, Air-Conditioning, and Refrigeration Contractors.
Massachusetts: Refrigeration Technician. Refrigeration technician license issued by the Office of Public Safety and Inspections; apprentices work under a refrigeration apprentice license. Issued by Massachusetts Office of Public Safety and Inspections.
Oklahoma: Mechanical journeyman, then Mechanical contractor. Statewide mechanical journeyman and contractor licenses, issued by category (such as HVAC, refrigeration and process piping) by the Construction Industries Board. Issued by Oklahoma Construction Industries Board.
Virginia: Journeyman HVAC Tradesman, then Master HVAC Tradesman. Statewide tradesman license issued by the Board for Contractors. Journeyman and master HVAC tradesman licenses are set out in the board's tradesman regulations (18 VAC 50-30). Issued by Virginia Board for Contractors, Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation.
States that license HVAC only at the contractor level
Arizona: Air conditioning and refrigeration contractor (C-39, R-39, CR-39). Arizona licenses the contracting business through the Registrar of Contractors, in commercial, residential and dual classifications (C-39, R-39, CR-39). The statute and rules read set no separate individual air conditioning and refrigeration certificate, so this page covers the contractor license. Issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors.
California: C-20 Warm-Air Heating, Ventilating and Air-Conditioning Contractor. The CSLB licenses heating and air conditioning businesses under C-20 Warm-Air Heating, Ventilating and Air-Conditioning Contractor; commercial refrigeration falls under C-38 Refrigeration Contractor. Issued by California Contractors State License Board.
Florida: Class B Air-Conditioning Contractor, then Class A Air-Conditioning Contractor. Statewide air-conditioning contractor certification in Classes A and B, plus mechanical contractors; Class C (service only) has not been issued to new applicants since October 1, 1988. Issued by Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board.
Georgia: Conditioned Air Contractor Class I (Restricted), then Conditioned Air Contractor Class II (Non-restricted). Statewide conditioned air contractor licenses in Class I (restricted) and Class II (non-restricted). Issued by Georgia State Construction Industry Licensing Board, Division of Conditioned Air Contractors.
Louisiana: Commercial license, mechanical classification. Louisiana licenses mechanical (heating and air conditioning) contracting through the LSLBC as a commercial license classification for projects over $10,000. The LSLBC summary read makes no statement about licensing individual mechanical (heating and air conditioning) workers. Electrical, mechanical and plumbing work needs an LSLBC license for projects over $10,000; commercial and residential building work needs one at $50,000 or more. Issued by Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors.
Michigan: Mechanical Contractor (per classification). A mechanical contractor license is required to install, alter or service work in the mechanical classifications (MCL 339.5809). Licenses are issued by work classification. Issued by Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Construction Codes.
North Carolina: Heating Group No. 3, then Heating Group No. 1. Statewide heating contractor licenses in three heating groups defined by G.S. 87-21, issued in Class I (all structures) and Class II (single-family dwellings). Issued by North Carolina State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors.
Ohio: HVAC Contractor (commercial). The OCILB licenses HVAC, refrigeration and hydronics contractors who perform commercial work, each as its own trade. Issued by Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board.
South Carolina: Mechanical contractor, Air Conditioning or Heating classification. South Carolina licenses heating and air conditioning contracting as a mechanical contractor classification (Air Conditioning and Heating) for jobs over $10,000. The license goes to the business, which names a qualifying party; the board's pages read describe no separate state license for individual heating and air conditioning workers. Master electrician and master plumber certifications from MASC or CAGC can qualify a person as qualifying party. A license is required for general or mechanical contracting work worth more than $10,000 (S.C. Code § 40-11-30). Cities and counties may require additional licensing or permits. Issued by South Carolina Contractor's Licensing Board, Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.
Tennessee: Contractor license, HVAC (CMC or CMC-C classification). HVAC projects of $25,000 or more need a state contractor license with the CMC or CMC-C classification, as prime or subcontractor. The state pages read describe no separate state HVAC credential below that amount. The state contractor license applies to projects of $25,000 or more, counting materials and labor; projects cannot be split into phases to stay under the threshold. Issued by Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors, Department of Commerce and Insurance.
Texas: ACR Contractor, Class B, then ACR Contractor, Class A. Statewide air conditioning and refrigeration contractor licenses; each ACR company employs a licensed ACR contractor at every permanent location. Technicians hold a registration or certification. Issued by Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR), Air Conditioning and Refrigeration.
States that license fuel work, not HVAC as a whole
Maine: Journeyman oil burner or solid fuel technician, then Master oil burner or solid fuel technician. Maine has no general HVAC license. Heating work on fuel-burning equipment is licensed by the Maine Fuel Board under 32 M.R.S. chapter 139: oil burner and solid fuel technicians at apprentice, journeyman and master level, and separate propane and natural gas technicians. Municipal licenses are not required for these trades (§ 18105). This page covers the oil and solid fuel ladder. Issued by Maine Fuel Board, Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation.
New Hampshire: Fuel Gas Piping Installer, then Fuel Gas Service Technician. Fuel gas fitting licenses for gas piping, appliance installation and service. The Mec 300 rules read create no general HVAC license; this page covers the fuel gas credentials heating and cooling installers hold. Issued by New Hampshire Mechanical Safety and Licensing Board.
Questions
What is an HVAC license?
A state credential to do or contract for heating, ventilation and air conditioning work. Of the 21 states on this site with an HVAC page, 8 license the individual worker (journeyman, master or technician), 11 license HVAC only at the contractor level (held by the contracting business or its qualifying person), and Maine and New Hampshire license fuel gas or oil burner work rather than HVAC as a whole.
Is EPA 608 certification the same as an HVAC license?
No. Section 608 is a federal certification for technicians who work on equipment that could release refrigerant, earned by passing a test given by an EPA-approved certifying organization. It is separate from the state licenses compared here, which each state board issues under its own rules. Section 608 Technician Certification credentials do not expire.
How long does it take to get an HVAC license?
It depends on the state. Among the 13 states here that state a minimum time to the first HVAC credential (Maine and New Hampshire, which license fuel work instead, are not counted), the shortest is South Carolina (2 years, Mechanical contractor, Air Conditioning or Heating classification) and the longest Ohio (5 years, HVAC Contractor (commercial)), counting hours at 2,000 a full-time year.
What license do I need to start an HVAC business?
In the 11 states here that license HVAC only at the contractor level, that contractor license is the state credential for running the business. Where those sources state an experience figure for it, 4 years is the most common, in 5 of the 11. Some apply only above a job value: Louisiana: Electrical, mechanical and plumbing work needs an LSLBC license for projects over $10,000; commercial and residential building work needs one at $50,000 or more. South Carolina: A license is required for general or mechanical contracting work worth more than $10,000 (S.C. Code § 40-11-30). Cities and counties may require additional licensing or permits. Tennessee: The state contractor license applies to projects of $25,000 or more, counting materials and labor; projects cannot be split into phases to stay under the threshold.
Does EPA 608 certification expire?
No. EPA's page says: "Section 608 Technician Certification credentials do not expire."
All 21 states side by side, with classroom hours and reciprocity: HVAC license requirements by state · South Carolina mechanical license classes · how trade license exams work · license or registration. States not covered, and why, are on the methodology page.
General information from the state sources (checked 2026-10-21) and EPA's Section 608 pages (read 2026-10-26), not legal advice. The state board and EPA are the authorities; confirm with them before applying.