Home / Electrician / Alabama

Alabama Electrical Contractors Board · checked 2026-10-21

Alabama Electrician License Requirements

Statewide journeyman electrician and electrical contractor licenses issued by the Alabama Electrical Contractors Board. Electrical contractor: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.

12
  1. 1JE · Journeyman electrician time not stated
  2. 2EC · Electrical contractor time not stated
Issued by
Alabama Electrical Contractors Board
Top credential
Electrical contractor
Time to top
time not stated
Exams
2 of 2 levels
Reciprocity
8 states

License levels in Alabama

The Alabama path has 2 steps on this page: Journeyman electrician and Electrical contractor.

LevelExperienceClassroomTime from startExamFees
JE Journeyman electriciannone stated—time not statedYesExam $115; License $35
EC Electrical contractornone stated—time not statedYesExam $165; License $150

Journeyman electrician (JE)

Pass the board's journeyman exam (paper or online application) and file form EC-1. The board's licensing page states no experience hours or years. Source: Alabama Electrical Contractors Board, How to get licensed.

Electrical contractor (EC)

Pass the electrical contractor exam (paper application only) and file forms EC-1 and EC-2. The licensing page states no experience requirement. Source: Alabama Electrical Contractors Board, How to get licensed.

Exam

2 of the 2 levels listed here require an exam: Journeyman electrician and Electrical contractor. The source does not print a pass mark.

Fees

All fees are non-refundable; card payments carry a 4% service fee.

Reciprocity

The Alabama source names 8 partner states for electrician licenses: Mississippi, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, Ohio, Louisiana and Texas. The board accepts licenses from Mississippi, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, Ohio and Louisiana for electrical contractors only, and from Texas for electrical contractors or journeymen. Applicants pay a $315 processing fee and pass the Alabama Business and Law exam (or the NASCLA electrical contractors exam). Georgia reciprocity is no longer available. Source: Alabama Electrical Contractors Board, How to get licensed.

Seen from the other side: Texas lists Alabama among its partners on its own board page (Texas). Each state applies its own conditions, so read both pages.

How Alabama compares

Alabama's source states no minimum time for the electrical contractor, so it is not ranked against the other states on this site.

South Carolina2 yearsNew Hampshire4 yearsCalifornia4 yearsFlorida4 yearsGeorgia4 yearsArizona4 yearsDelaware4 yearsNevada4 yearsWashington4 yearsMassachusetts5 yearsOhio5 yearsMinnesota5 yearsNorth Dakota5 yearsVirginia5 yearsConnecticut6 yearsMaine6 yearsTexas6 yearsMichigan6 yearsOklahoma6 yearsMaryland7 yearsKentucky8 yearsMontana8 yearsOregon8 yearsHawaii9 years
Minimum years to the top electrician credential in each state that states one; Alabama highlighted. Bars are to scale; states whose source gives no floor are not drawn.

Same trade elsewhere: California · Texas · Florida · Ohio · Georgia. All states side by side: Electrician license requirements by state.

Other trades in Alabama

All covered trades on one page: Alabama trade licenses.

Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · Trade license reciprocity between states.

Questions

Who issues the electrician license in Alabama?

Alabama Electrical Contractors Board (AECB). Statewide journeyman electrician and electrical contractor licenses issued by the Alabama Electrical Contractors Board.

How long does it take to qualify for the Electrical contractor in Alabama?

The source read (Alabama Electrical Contractors Board, How to get licensed) states no minimum time for the Electrical contractor. Pass the electrical contractor exam (paper application only) and file forms EC-1 and EC-2. The licensing page states no experience requirement.

Does Alabama have electrician license reciprocity?

Yes, with Mississippi, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, Ohio, Louisiana and Texas. The board accepts licenses from Mississippi, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, Ohio and Louisiana for electrical contractors only, and from Texas for electrical contractors or journeymen. Applicants pay a $315 processing fee and pass the Alabama Business and Law exam (or the NASCLA electrical contractors exam). Georgia reciprocity is no longer available.

What are the Alabama electrician license fees?

Journeyman electrician: exam $115, license $35. Electrical contractor: exam $165, license $150.

Sources and last checked

WhatSourceChecked
Issuing authorityAlabama Electrical Contractors Board (AECB)2026-10-21
JE requirementsAlabama Electrical Contractors Board, How to get licensed2026-10-21
EC requirementsAlabama Electrical Contractors Board, How to get licensed2026-10-21
Law citedCode of Ala. Title 34, Chapter 36 (board page; statute not read)2026-10-21

This page summarises what the Alabama source said on 2026-10-21. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with Alabama Electrical Contractors Board before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.