Home / Electrician / Arkansas

Arkansas Board of Electrical Examiners · checked 2026-10-21

Arkansas Electrician License Requirements

Statewide electrician licenses, including journeyman and master, issued by the Board of Electrical Examiners; applicants apply online to take the electrical exam. Master electrician: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.

12
  1. 1J · Journeyman electrician time not stated
  2. 2M · Master electrician time not stated
Issued by
Arkansas Board of Electrical Examiners
Top credential
Master electrician
Time to top
time not stated
Exams
2 of 2 levels
Reciprocity
17 states

License levels in Arkansas

The Arkansas path has 2 steps on this page: Journeyman electrician and Master electrician.

LevelExperienceClassroomTime from startExamFees
J Journeyman electriciannone stated—time not statedYesNot printed
M Master electriciannone stated—time not statedYesNot printed

Journeyman electrician (J)

Apply through the board's online portal to take the electrical exam. The board's licensing page does not print the experience hours; they are in the board's administrative rules, which were not read. Source: Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing, Electrical inspection and licensing.

Master electrician (M)

Apply to take the master electrical exam. The experience requirement is in the board's rules, which were not read. Source: Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing, Electrical inspection and licensing.

Exam

2 of the 2 levels listed here require an exam: Journeyman electrician and Master electrician. The source does not print a pass mark.

Fees

The Arkansas source read prints no dollar amounts for this license. The board page prints no fees.

Reciprocity

The Arkansas source names 17 partner states for electrician licenses: Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin and Wyoming. The board lists journeyman reciprocal agreements with Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin and Wyoming, and master agreements with Iowa, Oregon and Texas. It reciprocates only an original license from the issuing state, not a license that was itself obtained by reciprocity. Source: Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing, Electrical inspection and licensing.

Seen from the other side: New Hampshire and Texas list Arkansas among their partners on their own board pages (New Hampshire, Texas). Each state applies its own conditions, so read both pages.

How Arkansas compares

Arkansas's source states no minimum time for the master electrician, so it is not ranked against the other states on this site.

South Carolina2 yearsNew Hampshire4 yearsCalifornia4 yearsFlorida4 yearsGeorgia4 yearsArizona4 yearsDelaware4 yearsNevada4 yearsWashington4 yearsMassachusetts5 yearsOhio5 yearsMinnesota5 yearsNorth Dakota5 yearsVirginia5 yearsConnecticut6 yearsMaine6 yearsTexas6 yearsMichigan6 yearsOklahoma6 yearsMaryland7 yearsKentucky8 yearsMontana8 yearsOregon8 yearsHawaii9 years
Minimum years to the top electrician credential in each state that states one; Arkansas highlighted. Bars are to scale; states whose source gives no floor are not drawn.

Same trade elsewhere: California · Texas · Florida · Ohio · Georgia. All states side by side: Electrician license requirements by state.

Other trades in Arkansas

All covered trades on one page: Arkansas trade licenses.

Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · Trade license reciprocity between states.

Questions

Who issues the electrician license in Arkansas?

Arkansas Board of Electrical Examiners, Department of Labor and Licensing. Statewide electrician licenses, including journeyman and master, issued by the Board of Electrical Examiners; applicants apply online to take the electrical exam.

How long does it take to qualify for the Master electrician in Arkansas?

The source read (Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing, Electrical inspection and licensing) states no minimum time for the Master electrician. Apply to take the master electrical exam. The experience requirement is in the board's rules, which were not read.

Does Arkansas have electrician license reciprocity?

Yes, with Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin and Wyoming. The board lists journeyman reciprocal agreements with Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin and Wyoming, and master agreements with Iowa, Oregon and Texas. It reciprocates only an original license from the issuing state, not a license that was itself obtained by reciprocity.

Sources and last checked

WhatSourceChecked
Issuing authorityArkansas Board of Electrical Examiners, Department of Labor and Licensing2026-10-21
J requirementsArkansas Department of Labor and Licensing, Electrical inspection and licensing2026-10-21
M requirementsArkansas Department of Labor and Licensing, Electrical inspection and licensing2026-10-21
Law citedArkansas Board of Electrical Examiners laws and rules (board page; not read)2026-10-21

This page summarises what the Arkansas source said on 2026-10-21. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with Arkansas Board of Electrical Examiners before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.