Home / Electrician / Iowa
Iowa Department of Inspections · checked 2026-10-21
Iowa Electrician License Requirements
Statewide Class A journeyman and master electrician licenses under Iowa Code chapter 103. Class A master electrician: 1 year of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
- 1JA · Class A journeyman electrician time not stated
- 2MA · Class A master electrician 1 year after the prior level
License levels in Iowa
The Iowa path has 2 steps on this page: Class A journeyman electrician and Class A master electrician. The source states the time in years.
| Level | Experience | Classroom | Time from start | Exam | Fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JA Class A journeyman electrician | none stated | — | time not stated | Yes | Not printed |
| MA Class A master electrician | 1 year at the prior level | — | 1 year after the prior level | Yes | Not printed |
Class A journeyman electrician (JA)
Completion of an apprenticeship training program registered with the Office of Apprenticeship, or training and experience set by board rule; then an exam based on the most recent National Electrical Code and electrical theory. The section states no hours for the Class A route. Source: Iowa Code § 103.12, Journeyman electrician licenses.
Class A master electrician (MA)
At least one year of experience acceptable to the board as a licensed Class A or Class B journeyman electrician, then an exam based on the most recent National Electrical Code and electrical theory. Source: Iowa Code § 103.10, Master electrician licenses.
Iowa also issues narrower classes on the same page: Class B master electrician (at least 16,000 hours, 8,000 since January 1, 1998, without exam) and Class B journeyman electrician.
Exam
2 of the 2 levels listed here require an exam: Class A journeyman electrician and Class A master electrician. The source does not print a pass mark.
Fees
The Iowa source read prints no dollar amounts for this license. The code sections read print no fees.
Reciprocity
The Iowa sources read for this trade name no reciprocity agreement and no route for out-of-state licensees.
Seen from the other side: New Hampshire, Texas and Arkansas list Iowa among their partners on their own board pages (New Hampshire, Texas, Arkansas). Each state applies its own conditions, so read both pages.
How Iowa compares
Iowa's source gives 1 year for the class a master electrician on top of the earlier level, but no time for the earlier level itself, so the full path cannot be ranked against other states.
Same trade elsewhere: California · Texas · Florida · Ohio · Georgia. All states side by side: Electrician license requirements by state.
Other trades in Iowa
- Plumber: Contractor (plumbing): 4 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
- HVAC: Contractor (HVAC): 4 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
- General contractor: Iowa uses a contractor registration for general contractors, not a skills license.
All covered trades on one page: Iowa trade licenses.
Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · How trade license exams work.
Questions
Who issues the electrician license in Iowa?
Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL), Electrical Examining Board. Statewide Class A journeyman and master electrician licenses under Iowa Code chapter 103.
How long does it take to qualify for the Class A master electrician in Iowa?
1 year by this site's count, plus however long the earlier level takes. At least one year of experience acceptable to the board as a licensed Class A or Class B journeyman electrician, then an exam based on the most recent National Electrical Code and electrical theory.
Does Iowa have electrician license reciprocity?
The Iowa sources read name no reciprocity agreement for this trade.
Sources and last checked
| What | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Issuing authority | Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL), Electrical Examining Board | 2026-10-21 |
| JA requirements | Iowa Code § 103.12, Journeyman electrician licenses | 2026-10-21 |
| MA requirements | Iowa Code § 103.10, Master electrician licenses | 2026-10-21 |
| Law cited | Iowa Code §§ 103.10, 103.12 | 2026-10-21 |
This page summarises what the Iowa source said on 2026-10-21. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with Iowa Department of Inspections before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.