Home / Electrician / Vermont

Vermont Electricians' Licensing Board · checked 2026-10-20

Vermont Electrician License Requirements

Statewide journeyman, master and Type-S specialty licenses under 26 V.S.A. chapter 15; licenses run three years. Master Electrician: 2 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.

12
  1. 1J · Journeyman Electrician time not stated
  2. 2M · Master Electrician 2 years after the prior level
Issued by
Vermont Electricians' Licensing Board
Top credential
Master Electrician
Time to top
2 years after the prior level
Exams
2 of 2 levels
Reciprocity
by review

License levels in Vermont

The Vermont path has 2 steps on this page: Journeyman Electrician and Master Electrician. The source states the time in years.

LevelExperienceClassroomTime from startExamFees
J Journeyman Electriciannone stated—time not statedYesLicense (three years) $115
M Master Electrician2 years at the prior level—2 years after the prior levelYesLicense (three years) $150
M2 years after the prior level
Years from the start of the trade to each Vermont electrician level, from the hours and years in the source (2,000 hours counted as one full-time year). Bars are to scale.

Journeyman Electrician (J)

Verification by the Vermont Apprenticeship Council of a completed apprenticeship in electrical wiring, or equivalent training and experience acceptable to the Board, and an examination. The statute states no hour count. 26 V.S.A. § 903. Source: 26 V.S.A. chapter 15.

Master Electrician (M)

Licensed as a journeyman electrician in Vermont for at least two years, or comparable experience and training acceptable to the Board, and an examination. 26 V.S.A. § 902. Source: 26 V.S.A. chapter 15.

Vermont also issues narrower classes on the same page: Type-S journeyman ($115 per field): automatic gas or oil heating, refrigeration or air conditioning, well pumps, farm equipment.

Exam

2 of the 2 levels listed here require an exam: Journeyman Electrician and Master Electrician. The source does not print a pass mark. Renewal requires 15 hours of National Electrical Code instruction in the preceding 36 months (8 hours for Type-S).

Fees

Reciprocity

26 V.S.A. § 906(b): reciprocity where another state's standards are equivalent and it grants Vermont electricians the same; and the Board shall license masters and journeymen who have held a license in good standing in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least three years. Service members with 8,000 hours and four years as a 12R electrician qualify for a journeyman license. Source: 26 V.S.A. § 906.

Seen from the other side: New Hampshire and Maine list Vermont among their partners on their own board pages (New Hampshire, Maine). Each state applies its own conditions, so read both pages.

How Vermont compares

Vermont's source gives 2 years for the master electrician on top of the earlier level, but no time for the earlier level itself, so the full path cannot be ranked against other states.

New Hampshire4 yearsCalifornia4 yearsFlorida4 yearsGeorgia4 yearsMassachusetts5 yearsOhio5 yearsConnecticut6 yearsMaine6 yearsTexas6 yearsMichigan6 years
Minimum years to the top electrician credential in each state that states one; Vermont highlighted. Bars are to scale; states whose source gives no floor are not drawn.

Same trade elsewhere: Connecticut · Massachusetts · New Hampshire · Maine · Rhode Island. All states side by side: Electrician license requirements by state.

Other trades in Vermont

All covered trades on one page: Vermont trade licenses.

Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · What the license fees add up to.

Questions

Who issues the electrician license in Vermont?

Vermont Electricians' Licensing Board (Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety). Statewide journeyman, master and Type-S specialty licenses under 26 V.S.A. chapter 15; licenses run three years.

How long does it take to qualify for the Master Electrician in Vermont?

2 years by this site's count, plus however long the earlier level takes. Licensed as a journeyman electrician in Vermont for at least two years, or comparable experience and training acceptable to the Board, and an examination. 26 V.S.A. § 902.

Does Vermont have electrician license reciprocity?

26 V.S.A. § 906(b): reciprocity where another state's standards are equivalent and it grants Vermont electricians the same; and the Board shall license masters and journeymen who have held a license in good standing in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least three years. Service members with 8,000 hours and four years as a 12R electrician qualify for a journeyman license.

What are the Vermont electrician license fees?

Journeyman Electrician: license (three years) $115. Master Electrician: license (three years) $150.

Sources and last checked

WhatSourceChecked
Issuing authorityVermont Electricians' Licensing Board (Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety)2026-10-20
J requirements26 V.S.A. chapter 152026-10-20
M requirements26 V.S.A. chapter 152026-10-20
Law cited26 V.S.A. §§ 902 to 9082026-10-20

This page summarises what the Vermont source said on 2026-10-20. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with Vermont Electricians' Licensing Board before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.