Home / Electrician / Connecticut / Renewal
Connecticut electrical license renewal
Connecticut electrical licenses renew on a schedule the CE page does not state. Licensed electricians need 4 hours of continuing education each year; the pages read print no renewal fee.
- 1Renewal cycle not stated
- 2CE hours 4 h per year
- 3Renewal fee not printed
- 4Late fee not printed
When Connecticut electrical licenses renew
CE is counted by year: all hours must be completed by June 30 of each year, which DCP says is three months before the renewal deadline. The CE page does not print the renewal fee or the license expiration date. DCP points to the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, Subtitle 20-334d, for the CE rules; questions go to dcp.continuingeducation@ct.gov.
Continuing education hours
One CE rule applies on the Connecticut page read. The "per year" column divides the hours by the length of the CE period so states with different cycles can be compared.
| License holders | Hours | Period | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Licensed electricians | 4 | each year | 4 |
Licensed electricians. 4 credit hours per year in courses approved by the Connecticut Electrical Board.
Renewal fees
Not printed on the CE page read.
Exemptions and conditions
- No CE is required for a first license renewal.
- The commissioner may consider an exception for a bona fide health or other individual hardship; loss of income from a cancelled license is not a hardship.
How Connecticut compares
Counted per year, the heaviest CE load on this Connecticut page is 4 hours. Of the 7 renewal rules this site has read, that ranks 6 of 7 from most to fewest hours a year (MA electrical 7 h a year; CT plumbing 2.5 h a year). Comparing hours a year is rough: a state with a longer cycle lets the hours be taken in one block, and several states set lower figures for limited or apprentice licenses, as the table above shows.
All renewal rules read so far: trade license renewal by state.
Getting the Connecticut license in the first place
Renewal keeps an existing license current; it does not replace the initial requirements. For a first license: Unlimited Electrical Contractor: 6 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam. The Connecticut electrical license requirements page lists every level, the experience hours, the exam and the fees from the Connecticut board.
Questions
How many CE hours does a Connecticut electrical license renewal need?
Licensed electricians: 4 hours a year. 4 credit hours per year in courses approved by the Connecticut Electrical Board.
How often do Connecticut electrical licenses renew?
CE is counted by year: all hours must be completed by June 30 of each year, which DCP says is three months before the renewal deadline. The CE page does not print the renewal fee or the license expiration date.
What does it cost to renew a Connecticut electrical license?
Not printed on the CE page read.
Who is exempt from Connecticut electrical CE?
No CE is required for a first license renewal. The commissioner may consider an exception for a bona fide health or other individual hardship; loss of income from a cancelled license is not a hardship.
Sources and last checked
| What | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| 4 hours a year, June 30 deadline, first-renewal and hardship exemptions | CT DCP, Electrician - Continuing Education | 2026-10-25 |
This page summarises what the Connecticut sources said on 2026-10-25. Renewal fees, deadlines and CE rules change; verify with the board (Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP), Electrical Work Examining Board) before renewing. General information, not legal advice.