Home / States / Louisiana

Rest of the US · 4 trades verified · checked 2026-10-21

Louisiana trade licenses

Electrician, Plumber, HVAC and General contractor credentials in Louisiana, from the issuing board's page or the statute: who issues each one, the levels, the time it takes and the exam.

1234
  1. 1Electrician CL
  2. 2Plumber 3.5 years
  3. 3HVAC CL
  4. 4General contractor CB
TradeIssued byTop credentialTime to topExamFees printed
ElectricianLouisiana State Licensing Board for ContractorsCommercial license, electrical classificationtime not statedYesNo
PlumberState Plumbing Board of LouisianaMaster plumber3.5 yearsYesYes
HVACLouisiana State Licensing Board for ContractorsCommercial license, mechanical classificationtime not statedYesNo
General contractorLouisiana State Licensing Board for ContractorsCommercial license (building construction)time not statedYesNo
Plumber3.5 years
Years to the top credential in each Louisiana trade covered here, from the hours and years in each source. "+" means the earlier level's time is not stated.

Electrician in Louisiana

Louisiana licenses electrical contracting through the LSLBC as a commercial license classification for projects over $10,000. The LSLBC summary read makes no statement about licensing individual electrical workers. Commercial license, electrical classification: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.

Commercial license, electrical classification — time not stated, exam. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.

What the top level asks for: The business qualifies with a passed business and law exam and the trade exam where one applies, and a financial statement showing at least $50,000 net worth, current within 12 months. The summary states no experience requirement.

Louisiana electrician details · Electrician in every state

Plumber in Louisiana

Statewide journeyman and master plumber licenses issued by the State Plumbing Board. Under Act 908 of the 2026 session, plumbing licensing moves to the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors, fully effective January 1, 2027. Master plumber: 3.5 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.

Journeyman plumber — 3.5 years, exam, application and exam $135, initial license $50. Master plumber — 3.5 years, exam, application $110, initial license (active) $190. Reciprocity partners named: Texas.

What the top level asks for: A current journeyman plumbing license (or a current professional engineer license), then a three-part written exam (80, 25 and 40 questions) with no practical. The page states no added experience time.

Louisiana plumber details · Plumber in every state

HVAC in Louisiana

Louisiana licenses mechanical (heating and air conditioning) contracting through the LSLBC as a commercial license classification for projects over $10,000. The LSLBC summary read makes no statement about licensing individual mechanical (heating and air conditioning) workers. Commercial license, mechanical classification: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.

Commercial license, mechanical classification — time not stated, exam. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.

What the top level asks for: The business qualifies with a passed business and law exam and the trade exam where one applies, and a financial statement showing at least $50,000 net worth, current within 12 months. The summary states no experience requirement.

Louisiana HVAC details · HVAC in every state

General contractor in Louisiana

Louisiana licenses building contractors through the LSLBC: a residential building license for residential projects of $50,000 or more (or any structural work), a commercial license for commercial projects of $50,000 or more, and a home improvement registration for home improvement projects over $7,500 up to $50,000. Commercial license (building construction): the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.

Home improvement registration — registration. Residential building license — time not stated, exam. Commercial license (building construction) — time not stated, exam. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.

What the top level asks for: Business and law course and the trade exam where applicable, and a financial statement showing at least $50,000 net worth, current within 12 months.

Louisiana general contractor details · General contractor in every state

Moving to or from Louisiana

Electrician: no route is named in the source, and Texas and Alabama list Louisiana in return. Plumber: Louisiana names Texas. HVAC: no route is named in the source. General contractor: no route is named in the source, and Alabama and Georgia list Louisiana in return. Conditions differ by board, so read the state page for each trade before relying on a partner list.

Nearby and comparable: Alabama · Arizona · Arkansas · California · Delaware. Guides: how long each state takes · license or registration.

General information from the Louisiana sources on 2026-10-21, not legal advice. Each board is the authority; confirm before applying.