Rest of the US · 3 trades verified · checked 2026-10-21
Minnesota trade licenses
Electrician, Plumber and General contractor credentials in Minnesota, from the issuing board's page or the statute: who issues each one, the levels, the time it takes and the exam.
| Trade | Issued by | Top credential | Time to top | Exam | Fees printed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electrician | Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) | Class A master electrician | 5 years | Yes | Yes |
| Plumber | Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) | Journeyworker plumber | 4 years | Yes | Yes |
| General contractor | Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) | Residential building contractor | time not stated | Yes | No |
Electrician in Minnesota
Statewide electrician licenses issued by DLI under Minn. Stat. §§ 326B.31 to 326B.399, including Class A journeyworker and Class A master electrician. Class A master electrician: 5 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
Class A journeyworker electrician — 4 years, exam, application and exam $50, license (one year) $20. Class A master electrician — 5 years, exam, application and exam $50, license (one year) $40. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: At least one year of experience as a licensed journeyworker, or at least five years of experience acceptable to the commissioner, or a four-year electrical degree route; then the master exam.
Minnesota electrician details · Electrician in every state
Plumber in Minnesota
Statewide journeyworker and master plumber licenses issued by DLI. A plumbing contractor license covers all areas of the state; a restricted plumbing contractor license excludes cities and towns of more than 5,000 people. Journeyworker plumber: 4 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
Journeyworker plumber — 4 years, exam, application and exam $50, license (one year) $20. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: Four years of practical plumbing experience as a registered apprentice or unlicensed individual makes a person eligible for the journeyworker plumbing exam; up to 24 months of plumbing experience from the 12 months before registering can count toward the four years.
Minnesota plumber details · Plumber in every state
General contractor in Minnesota
Statewide residential building contractor and residential remodeler licenses under Minn. Stat. §§ 326B.802 to 326B.885. Each licensee names a qualifying person who passes the exam. Residential building contractor: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
Residential building contractor — time not stated, exam. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: The qualifying person must pass a written exam for the type of license, covering technical terms, code books, business management and other state law; the applicant files a Minnesota workers' compensation insurance certificate and a certificate of liability insurance. The statute leaves related education and experience to the commissioner and states no figure.
Minnesota general contractor details · General contractor in every state
Moving to or from Minnesota
Electrician: no route is named in the source, and Arkansas lists Minnesota in return. Plumber: no route is named in the source. General contractor: no route is named in the source. Conditions differ by board, so read the state page for each trade before relying on a partner list.
Not covered yet
HVAC is not on this page because no Minnesota board page or statute for it was fetched and verified in this run. The methodology lists every exclusion.
Nearby and comparable: Alabama · Arizona · Arkansas · California · Delaware. Guides: how long each state takes · license or registration.
General information from the Minnesota sources on 2026-10-21, not legal advice. Each board is the authority; confirm before applying.