Home / States / Rhode Island

New England · 3 trades verified · checked 2026-10-20

Rhode Island trade licenses

Electrician, Plumber and General contractor credentials in Rhode Island, from the issuing board's page or the statute: who issues each one, the levels, the time it takes and the exam.

1234
  1. 1Electrician A
  2. 2Plumber 5 years
  3. 3HVAC not covered here
  4. 4General contractor registration
TradeIssued byTop credentialTime to topExamFees printed
ElectricianRhode Island Department of Labor and TrainingElectrical Contractor (Certificate A)time not statedYesYes
PlumberRhode Island Department of Labor and TrainingMaster Plumber5 yearsYesYes
General contractorRhode Island Contractors' Registration and Licensing BoardContractor registrationregistrationNoYes
Plumber5 years
Years to the top credential in each Rhode Island trade covered here, from the hours and years in each source. "+" means the earlier level's time is not stated.

Electrician in Rhode Island

Statewide certificates under R.I. Gen. Laws chapter 5-6: Certificate A lets a firm conduct business as an electrical contractor; Certificate B is the journeyperson license for the person doing the work. Electrical Contractor (Certificate A): the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.

Journeyperson Electrician (Certificate B) — time not stated, exam, license $72. Electrical Contractor (Certificate A) — time not stated, exam, license $240. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.

What the top level asks for: Issued to a person or firm whose named member or officer passes the contractor examination. The certificate entitles the holder to conduct business as an electrical contractor, not to do the work personally. § 5-6-8(a).

Rhode Island electrician details · Electrician in every state

Plumber in Rhode Island

Statewide journeyperson and master plumber licenses under R.I. Gen. Laws chapter 5-20; apprentices hold a registration certificate from the Department of Labor and Training. Master Plumber: 5 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.

Journeyperson Plumber — 4 years, 576 classroom hours, exam, application $75. Master Plumber — 5 years, exam, application $75. Out-of-state route: reviewed case by case under the source's rules.

What the top level asks for: A journeyperson plumber license in force for a minimum of one year, with an affidavit of employment by a licensed master plumber during that period; file at least 30 days before the exam. § 5-20-16.

Rhode Island plumber details · Plumber in every state

General contractor in Rhode Island

Every contractor and subcontractor in the business of building or repairing structures must register with the CRLB. Registrations are valid for one year. Rhode Island uses a contractor registration for general contractors, not a skills license.

Contractor registration — registration, 5 classroom hours, registration $150. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.

What the top level asks for: Proof of a state-approved 5-hour pre-registration course (exempt for work only on commercial structures), a $500,000 general liability certificate naming the CRLB, and workers' compensation if there are employees. The application page mentions no exam.

Rhode Island general contractor details · General contractor in every state

Moving to or from Rhode Island

Electrician: no route is named in the source. Plumber: Rhode Island reviews out-of-state licenses without naming partners. General contractor: no route is named in the source. Conditions differ by board, so read the state page for each trade before relying on a partner list.

Not covered yet

HVAC is not on this page because no Rhode Island board page or statute for it was fetched and verified in this run. The methodology lists every exclusion.

Nearby and comparable: Connecticut · Maine · Massachusetts · New Hampshire · Vermont. Guides: how long each state takes · license or registration.

General information from the Rhode Island sources on 2026-10-20, not legal advice. Each board is the authority; confirm before applying.