Home / General contractor / Maryland
Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC) · checked 2026-10-21
Maryland General contractor License Requirements
Maryland's statewide contractor credential is the MHIC license for home improvement work. Applicants file a personal financial statement; those who do not meet the commission's financial solvency guidelines may use an indemnitor or surety bond. Home improvement contractor: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
- 1MHIC · Home improvement contractor time not stated
License levels in Maryland
Maryland has one credential on this path: the Home improvement contractor.
| Level | Experience | Classroom | Time from start | Exam | Fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MHIC Home improvement contractor | none stated | — | time not stated | Yes (PSI) | Contractor license $281.25; Guaranty Fund assessment (two years) $100 |
Home improvement contractor (MHIC)
Pass the commission's exam on home improvement law and competency to do the work (Bus. Reg. § 8-302), given by PSI; carry general liability insurance of at least $500,000 (since June 1, 2024); pay the $100 two-year Guaranty Fund assessment on an original license. Source: Maryland Home Improvement Commission.
Exam
1 of the 1 level listed here requires an exam: Home improvement contractor. The source does not print a pass mark. Testing vendor named: PSI. (Md. Code, Bus. Reg. § 8-302)
Fees, insurance and bond
- Home improvement contractor: contractor license $281.25, guaranty fund assessment (two years) $100 ($381.25 together).
The $281.25 contractor fee is charged for each place of business; the exam fee is paid to the testing service. The sources read state no experience requirement in years. Fee source: COMAR 09.08.07.02, MHIC fees.
Insurance: General liability insurance of at least $500,000, effective June 1, 2024 (MHIC page).
Reciprocity
The Maryland sources read for this trade name no reciprocity agreement and no route for out-of-state licensees.
How Maryland compares
Maryland's source states no minimum time for the home improvement contractor, so it is not ranked against the other states on this site.
Same trade elsewhere: California · Florida · Pennsylvania · North Carolina · Michigan. All states side by side: General contractor license requirements by state.
Other trades in Maryland
- Electrician: Master electrician: 7 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
- Plumber: Master plumber: 6 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
- HVAC: HVACR master: 7 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
All covered trades on one page: Maryland trade licenses.
Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · What the license fees add up to.
Questions
Who issues the general contractor license in Maryland?
Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC), Maryland Department of Labor. Maryland's statewide contractor credential is the MHIC license for home improvement work. Applicants file a personal financial statement; those who do not meet the commission's financial solvency guidelines may use an indemnitor or surety bond.
How long does it take to qualify for the Home improvement contractor in Maryland?
The source read (Maryland Home Improvement Commission) states no minimum time for the Home improvement contractor. Pass the commission's exam on home improvement law and competency to do the work (Bus. Reg. § 8-302), given by PSI; carry general liability insurance of at least $500,000 (since June 1, 2024); pay the $100 two-year Guaranty Fund assessment on an original license.
Does Maryland have general contractor license reciprocity?
The Maryland sources read name no reciprocity agreement for this trade.
What are the Maryland general contractor license fees?
Home improvement contractor: contractor license $281.25, guaranty fund assessment (two years) $100.
Sources and last checked
| What | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Issuing authority | Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC), Maryland Department of Labor | 2026-10-21 |
| MHIC requirements | Maryland Home Improvement Commission | 2026-10-21 |
| Law cited | Md. Code, Bus. Reg. Title 8 (§ 8-302); COMAR 09.08.07.02 (fees) | 2026-10-21 |
This page summarises what the Maryland source said on 2026-10-21. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC) before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.