Rest of the US · 4 trades verified · checked 2026-10-21
Maryland trade licenses
Electrician, Plumber, HVAC and General contractor credentials in Maryland, from the issuing board's page or the statute: who issues each one, the levels, the time it takes and the exam.
| Trade | Issued by | Top credential | Time to top | Exam | Fees printed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electrician | Maryland State Board of Master Electricians | Master electrician | 7 years | Yes | Yes |
| Plumber | Maryland State Board of Plumbing | Master plumber | 6 years | Yes | No |
| HVAC | Maryland State Board of Heating | HVACR master | 7 years | Yes | Yes |
| General contractor | Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC) | Home improvement contractor | time not stated | Yes | Yes |
Electrician in Maryland
Statewide master, journeyperson and apprentice electrician licenses. The board's page says all electrical work must be done by a licensed master, journeyperson or apprentice electrician; a license obtained through a local jurisdiction's exam cannot be used to get a license in another state or D.C. Master electrician: 7 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
Journeyperson electrician — 4 years, exam, original license $18.50. Master electrician — 7 years, exam, original license $25. Reciprocity partners named: Virginia, West Virginia, District of Columbia and Delaware.
What the top level asks for: At least seven years of experience under a master electrician or similarly qualified government employee; the board may credit up to three years for a formal course of study or professional training, and completed approved apprenticeship work is credited. Exam through PSI. Masters must carry general liability insurance of at least $300,000 and property damage insurance of at least $100,000 (umbrella coverage not accepted).
Maryland electrician details · Electrician in every state
Plumber in Maryland
Statewide apprentice, journey and master plumber licenses issued by the State Board of Plumbing under Title 12 of the Business Occupations and Professions Article. Master plumber: 6 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
Journey plumber — 4 years, exam. Master plumber — 6 years, exam. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: At least 3,750 hours of training as a journey plumber; Maryland residents must also have held the journey plumber license for two years. Journey plumbers licensed in another state qualify with 7,500 hours under a master plumber and an equivalent exam.
Maryland plumber details · Plumber in every state
HVAC in Maryland
Statewide HVACR licenses under Business Regulation Article 9A and COMAR 09.15: apprentice, journeyman, limited, master restricted and master. HVACR master: 7 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
HVACR journeyman — 4 years, exam, license $25. HVACR limited contractor — 6 years, exam, license $94.50. HVACR master — 7 years, exam, license $94.50. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: Three years of active experience as a licensed journeyman providing all areas of HVACR services under a master, with 1,875 hours in the year before applying; master exam (70%). Insurance is required to contract work. A master restricted license covers selected areas on the same experience.
Maryland HVAC details · HVAC in every state
General contractor in Maryland
Maryland's statewide contractor credential is the MHIC license for home improvement work. Applicants file a personal financial statement; those who do not meet the commission's financial solvency guidelines may use an indemnitor or surety bond. Home improvement contractor: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
Home improvement contractor — time not stated, exam, contractor license $281.25, guaranty fund assessment (two years) $100. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: Pass the commission's exam on home improvement law and competency to do the work (Bus. Reg. § 8-302), given by PSI; carry general liability insurance of at least $500,000 (since June 1, 2024); pay the $100 two-year Guaranty Fund assessment on an original license.
Maryland general contractor details · General contractor in every state
Moving to or from Maryland
Electrician: Maryland names Virginia, West Virginia, District of Columbia and Delaware. Plumber: no route is named in the source. HVAC: no route is named in the source. General contractor: no route is named in the source. Conditions differ by board, so read the state page for each trade before relying on a partner list.
Nearby and comparable: Alabama · Arizona · Arkansas · California · Delaware. Guides: how long each state takes · license or registration.
General information from the Maryland sources on 2026-10-21, not legal advice. Each board is the authority; confirm before applying.