Home / General contractor / Oregon
Oregon Construction Contractors Board · checked 2026-10-21
Oregon General contractor License Requirements
Statewide contractor license issued by the Construction Contractors Board with residential and commercial endorsements; each endorsement sets its own bond and liability insurance. Commercial general contractor, level 1: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
- 1RGC · Residential general contractor time not stated
- 2CGC1 · Commercial general contractor, level 1 time not stated
License levels in Oregon
The Oregon path has 2 steps on this page: Residential general contractor and Commercial general contractor, level 1.
| Level | Experience | Classroom | Time from start | Exam | Fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RGC Residential general contractor | none stated | — | time not stated | Yes | Not printed |
| CGC1 Commercial general contractor, level 1 | none stated | — | time not stated | Yes | Not printed |
Residential general contractor (RGC)
A responsible managing individual completes the pre-license training and test required by ORS 701.122; the contractor files a $25,000 surety bond and carries $500,000 of liability insurance (ORS 701.081). Residential specialty contractors post $20,000 and carry $300,000. Source: ORS Chapter 701 (§§ 701.068, 701.073, 701.081, 701.084), Construction contractors.
Commercial general contractor, level 1 (CGC1)
The same training and test, a $80,000 surety bond and $2 million of liability insurance (ORS 701.084). Level 2 commercial general contractors post $25,000 and carry $1 million. Source: ORS Chapter 701 (§§ 701.068, 701.073, 701.081, 701.084), Construction contractors.
Exam
2 of the 2 levels listed here require an exam: Residential general contractor and Commercial general contractor, level 1. The source does not print a pass mark.
Fees, insurance and bond
The Oregon source read prints no dollar amounts for this license. The ORS sections read print bond and insurance amounts but no license fee; the training hours in ORS 701.122 were not in the part of the chapter that could be read.
Insurance: Residential general contractor $500,000; residential specialty $300,000; commercial general level 1 $2 million; commercial specialty level 1 and commercial general level 2 $1 million (ORS 701.081 and 701.084).
Bond: Residential general contractor $25,000; residential specialty $20,000; residential limited $15,000; commercial general level 1 $80,000; commercial specialty level 1 $55,000; commercial general or specialty level 2 $25,000. (ORS Chapter 701 (§§ 701.068, 701.073, 701.081, 701.084), Construction contractors)
Reciprocity
The Oregon sources read for this trade name no reciprocity agreement and no route for out-of-state licensees.
How Oregon compares
Oregon's source states no minimum time for the commercial general contractor, level 1, so it is not ranked against the other states on this site.
Same trade elsewhere: California · Florida · Pennsylvania · North Carolina · Michigan. All states side by side: General contractor license requirements by state.
Other trades in Oregon
- Electrician: General supervising electrician: 8 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
- Plumber: Journeyman plumber: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
All covered trades on one page: Oregon trade licenses.
Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · How trade license exams work.
Questions
Who issues the general contractor license in Oregon?
Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB). Statewide contractor license issued by the Construction Contractors Board with residential and commercial endorsements; each endorsement sets its own bond and liability insurance.
How long does it take to qualify for the Commercial general contractor, level 1 in Oregon?
The source read (ORS Chapter 701 (§§ 701.068, 701.073, 701.081, 701.084), Construction contractors) states no minimum time for the Commercial general contractor, level 1. The same training and test, a $80,000 surety bond and $2 million of liability insurance (ORS 701.084). Level 2 commercial general contractors post $25,000 and carry $1 million.
Does Oregon have general contractor license reciprocity?
The Oregon sources read name no reciprocity agreement for this trade.
Sources and last checked
| What | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Issuing authority | Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB) | 2026-10-21 |
| RGC requirements | ORS Chapter 701 (§§ 701.068, 701.073, 701.081, 701.084), Construction contractors | 2026-10-21 |
| CGC1 requirements | ORS Chapter 701 (§§ 701.068, 701.073, 701.081, 701.084), Construction contractors | 2026-10-21 |
| Law cited | ORS 701.068, 701.073, 701.081, 701.084, 701.122 | 2026-10-21 |
This page summarises what the Oregon source said on 2026-10-21. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with Oregon Construction Contractors Board before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.