Rest of the US · 3 trades verified · checked 2026-10-21
Oregon trade licenses
Electrician, Plumber and General contractor credentials in Oregon, from the issuing board's page or the statute: who issues each one, the levels, the time it takes and the exam.
| Trade | Issued by | Top credential | Time to top | Exam | Fees printed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electrician | Oregon Electrical and Elevator Board | General supervising electrician | 8 years | Yes | No |
| Plumber | Oregon State Plumbing Board | Journeyman plumber | time not stated | Yes | No |
| General contractor | Oregon Construction Contractors Board | Commercial general contractor, level 1 | time not stated | Yes | No |
Electrician in Oregon
Statewide electrician licenses issued by the Building Codes Division on exams prepared by the Electrical and Elevator Board, under ORS 479.630. General supervising electrician: 8 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
General journeyman electrician — 4 years, exam. General supervising electrician — 8 years, exam. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: At least four years of experience as a general journeyman electrician or its equivalent as set by board rule, then the board's written exam.
Oregon electrician details · Electrician in every state
Plumber in Oregon
Statewide journeyman plumber license issued on the State Plumbing Board's written exam under ORS Chapter 693; plumbing contractors are licensed separately. Journeyman plumber: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
Journeyman plumber — time not stated, exam. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: Shown by written exam to be fit, competent and qualified as a journeyman plumber, and meets the board's rules under ORS 455.117. The statute leaves experience to those rules and the apprenticeship statutes and states no hours.
Oregon plumber details · Plumber in every state
General contractor in Oregon
Statewide contractor license issued by the Construction Contractors Board with residential and commercial endorsements; each endorsement sets its own bond and liability insurance. Commercial general contractor, level 1: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
Residential general contractor — time not stated, exam. Commercial general contractor, level 1 — time not stated, exam. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: The same training and test, a $80,000 surety bond and $2 million of liability insurance (ORS 701.084). Level 2 commercial general contractors post $25,000 and carry $1 million.
Oregon general contractor details · General contractor in every state
Moving to or from Oregon
Electrician: no route is named in the source, and Maine lists Oregon in return. Plumber: no route is named in the source. General contractor: no route is named in the source. Conditions differ by board, so read the state page for each trade before relying on a partner list.
Not covered yet
HVAC is not on this page because no Oregon board page or statute for it was fetched and verified in this run. The methodology lists every exclusion.
Nearby and comparable: Alabama · Arizona · Arkansas · California · Delaware. Guides: how long each state takes · license or registration.
General information from the Oregon sources on 2026-10-21, not legal advice. Each board is the authority; confirm before applying.