Home / General contractor / North Dakota

North Dakota Secretary of State · checked 2026-10-21

North Dakota General contractor License Requirements

North Dakota licenses contractors through the Secretary of State for any job whose cost, value or price exceeds $4,000. The class sets the largest single contract. Class A contractor (no limit): the source states no minimum time.

1234
  1. 1D · Class D contractor (projects up to $100,000) time not stated
  2. 2C · Class C contractor (up to $300,000) time not stated
  3. 3B · Class B contractor (up to $500,000) time not stated
  4. 4A · Class A contractor (no limit) time not stated
Issued by
North Dakota Secretary of State
Top credential
Class A contractor (no limit)
Time to top
time not stated
Exams
none listed
Reciprocity
none named

License levels in North Dakota

The North Dakota path has 4 steps on this page: Class D contractor (projects up to $100,000), Class C contractor (up to $300,000), Class B contractor (up to $500,000) and Class A contractor (no limit).

LevelExperienceClassroomTime from startExamFees
D Class D contractor (projects up to $100,000)none stated—time not statedNoNew license $100
C Class C contractor (up to $300,000)none stated—time not statedNoNew license $225
B Class B contractor (up to $500,000)none stated—time not statedNoNew license $300
A Class A contractor (no limit)none stated—time not statedNoNew license $450

Class D contractor (projects up to $100,000) (D)

File the application with a certificate of liability insurance and a workforce safety and insurance coverage statement. The chapter sets no exam or experience requirement. Source: N.D.C.C. chapter 43-07, Contractors.

Class C contractor (up to $300,000) (C)

Same filing; projects up to $300,000. Source: N.D.C.C. chapter 43-07, Contractors.

Class B contractor (up to $500,000) (B)

Same filing; projects up to $500,000. Source: N.D.C.C. chapter 43-07, Contractors.

Class A contractor (no limit) (A)

Same filing; no limit on the value of a single contract. Source: N.D.C.C. chapter 43-07, Contractors.

Exam

The North Dakota source lists no exam for this credential.

Fees, insurance and bond

Annual renewal is $30 (D), $45 (C), $60 (B) or $90 (A).

Insurance: A certificate of liability insurance with the application (naming the registrar on renewal) and proof of workforce safety and insurance coverage.

When a license is needed: A license is needed when the cost, value or price per job exceeds $4,000 (§ 43-07-02). (N.D.C.C. chapter 43-07, Contractors)

Reciprocity

The North Dakota sources read for this trade name no reciprocity agreement and no route for out-of-state licensees.

How North Dakota compares

North Dakota's source states no minimum time for the class a contractor (no limit), so it is not ranked against the other states on this site.

South Carolina2 yearsMassachusetts3 yearsCalifornia4 yearsFlorida4 yearsArizona4 yearsHawaii4 yearsNevada4 yearsVirginia5 years
Minimum years to the top general contractor credential in each state that states one; North Dakota highlighted. Bars are to scale; states whose source gives no floor are not drawn.

Same trade elsewhere: California · Florida · Pennsylvania · North Carolina · Michigan. All states side by side: General contractor license requirements by state.

Other trades in North Dakota

All covered trades on one page: North Dakota trade licenses.

Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · What the license fees add up to.

Questions

Who issues the general contractor license in North Dakota?

North Dakota Secretary of State (contractor licensing). North Dakota licenses contractors through the Secretary of State for any job whose cost, value or price exceeds $4,000. The class sets the largest single contract.

How long does it take to qualify for the Class A contractor (no limit) in North Dakota?

The source read (N.D.C.C. chapter 43-07, Contractors) states no minimum time for the Class A contractor (no limit). Same filing; no limit on the value of a single contract.

Does North Dakota have general contractor license reciprocity?

The North Dakota sources read name no reciprocity agreement for this trade.

What are the North Dakota general contractor license fees?

Class D contractor (projects up to $100,000): new license $100. Class C contractor (up to $300,000): new license $225. Class B contractor (up to $500,000): new license $300. Class A contractor (no limit): new license $450.

Sources and last checked

WhatSourceChecked
Issuing authorityNorth Dakota Secretary of State (contractor licensing)2026-10-21
D requirementsN.D.C.C. chapter 43-07, Contractors2026-10-21
C requirementsN.D.C.C. chapter 43-07, Contractors2026-10-21
B requirementsN.D.C.C. chapter 43-07, Contractors2026-10-21
A requirementsN.D.C.C. chapter 43-07, Contractors2026-10-21
Law citedN.D.C.C. §§ 43-07-02, 43-07-04, 43-07-07, 43-07-102026-10-21

This page summarises what the North Dakota source said on 2026-10-21. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with North Dakota Secretary of State before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.