Rest of the US · 3 trades verified · checked 2026-10-21
North Dakota trade licenses
Electrician, Plumber and General contractor credentials in North Dakota, from the issuing board's page or the statute: who issues each one, the levels, the time it takes and the exam.
| Trade | Issued by | Top credential | Time to top | Exam | Fees printed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electrician | North Dakota State Electrical Board | Master electrician | 5 years | Yes | No |
| Plumber | North Dakota State Plumbing Board | Master plumber | time not stated | Yes | Yes |
| General contractor | North Dakota Secretary of State | Class A contractor (no limit) | time not stated | No | Yes |
Electrician in North Dakota
Statewide master, journeyman and class B electrician licenses issued by the State Electrical Board under N.D.C.C. chapter 43-09. Master electrician: 5 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
Journeyman electrician — 4 years, exam. Master electrician — 5 years, exam. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: One year of experience as a licensed journeyman electrician, then the technical and practical exam.
North Dakota electrician details · Electrician in every state
Plumber in North Dakota
Statewide master and journeyman plumber certificates and licenses issued on the State Plumbing Board's exam under N.D.C.C. chapter 43-18. Master plumber: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
Journeyman plumber — time not stated, exam, application (maximum) $100, exam, certificate and license (maximum) $100. Master plumber — time not stated, exam, application (maximum) $100, exam, certificate and license (maximum) $200. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: Found qualified by the board's examination as skilled in planning, supervising and installing plumbing. The chapter sets no years or hours.
North Dakota plumber details · Plumber in every state
General contractor in North Dakota
North Dakota licenses contractors through the Secretary of State for any job whose cost, value or price exceeds $4,000. The class sets the largest single contract. Class A contractor (no limit): the source states no minimum time.
Class D contractor (projects up to $100,000) — time not stated, new license $100. Class C contractor (up to $300,000) — time not stated, new license $225. Class B contractor (up to $500,000) — time not stated, new license $300. Class A contractor (no limit) — time not stated, new license $450. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: Same filing; no limit on the value of a single contract.
North Dakota general contractor details · General contractor in every state
Moving to or from North Dakota
Electrician: no route is named in the source, and New Hampshire, Maine and Arkansas list North Dakota in return. Plumber: no route is named in the source. General contractor: no route is named in the source. Conditions differ by board, so read the state page for each trade before relying on a partner list.
Not covered yet
HVAC is not on this page because no North Dakota board page or statute for it was fetched and verified in this run. The methodology lists every exclusion.
Nearby and comparable: Alabama · Arizona · Arkansas · California · Delaware. Guides: how long each state takes · license or registration.
General information from the North Dakota sources on 2026-10-21, not legal advice. Each board is the authority; confirm before applying.