North Dakota State Plumbing Board · checked 2026-10-21
North Dakota Plumber License Requirements
Statewide master and journeyman plumber certificates and licenses issued on the State Plumbing Board's exam under N.D.C.C. chapter 43-18. Master plumber: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
- 1J · Journeyman plumber time not stated
- 2M · Master plumber time not stated
License levels in North Dakota
The North Dakota path has 2 steps on this page: Journeyman plumber and Master plumber.
| Level | Experience | Classroom | Time from start | Exam | Fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| J Journeyman plumber | none stated | — | time not stated | Yes | Application (maximum) $100; Exam, certificate and license (maximum) $100 |
| M Master plumber | none stated | — | time not stated | Yes | Application (maximum) $100; Exam, certificate and license (maximum) $200 |
Journeyman plumber (J)
Found qualified by the board's examination as a person whose principal occupation is the practical installation, alteration and repair of plumbing. The chapter sets no years or hours. Source: N.D.C.C. chapter 43-18, Plumbing.
Master plumber (M)
Found qualified by the board's examination as skilled in planning, supervising and installing plumbing. The chapter sets no years or hours. Source: N.D.C.C. chapter 43-18, Plumbing.
Exam
2 of the 2 levels listed here require an exam: Journeyman plumber and Master plumber. The source does not print a pass mark.
Fees
- Journeyman plumber: application (maximum) $100, exam, certificate and license (maximum) $100 ($200 together).
- Master plumber: application (maximum) $100, exam, certificate and license (maximum) $200 ($300 together).
The amounts are statutory maximums that the board may lower but not raise. Renewal may not exceed $100 for a journeyman and $200 for a master.
Reciprocity
The North Dakota sources read for this trade name no reciprocity agreement and no route for out-of-state licensees.
How North Dakota compares
North Dakota's source states no minimum time for the master plumber, so it is not ranked against the other states on this site.
Same trade elsewhere: California · Texas · Florida · Illinois · Ohio. All states side by side: Plumber license requirements by state.
Other trades in North Dakota
- Electrician: Master electrician: 5 years of experience at minimum, plus an exam.
- General contractor: Class A contractor (no limit): the source states no minimum time.
All covered trades on one page: North Dakota trade licenses.
Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · What the license fees add up to.
Questions
Who issues the plumber license in North Dakota?
North Dakota State Plumbing Board. Statewide master and journeyman plumber certificates and licenses issued on the State Plumbing Board's exam under N.D.C.C. chapter 43-18.
How long does it take to qualify for the Master plumber in North Dakota?
The source read (N.D.C.C. chapter 43-18, Plumbing) states no minimum time for the Master plumber. Found qualified by the board's examination as skilled in planning, supervising and installing plumbing. The chapter sets no years or hours.
Does North Dakota have plumber license reciprocity?
The North Dakota sources read name no reciprocity agreement for this trade.
What are the North Dakota plumber license fees?
Journeyman plumber: application (maximum) $100, exam, certificate and license (maximum) $100. Master plumber: application (maximum) $100, exam, certificate and license (maximum) $200.
Sources and last checked
| What | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Issuing authority | North Dakota State Plumbing Board | 2026-10-21 |
| J requirements | N.D.C.C. chapter 43-18, Plumbing | 2026-10-21 |
| M requirements | N.D.C.C. chapter 43-18, Plumbing | 2026-10-21 |
| Law cited | N.D.C.C. §§ 43-18-01, 43-18-08, 43-18-12, 43-18-13, 43-18-17 | 2026-10-21 |
This page summarises what the North Dakota source said on 2026-10-21. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with North Dakota State Plumbing Board before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.