Home / General contractor / Tennessee

Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors · checked 2026-10-21

Tennessee General contractor License Requirements

A state contractor license with a building classification (BC-A residential, BC or BC-B commercial) covers projects of $25,000 or more. In Bradley, Davidson, Hamilton, Haywood, Knox, Marion, Robertson, Rutherford and Shelby counties, a separate Home Improvement license covers remodeling projects from $3,000 to under $25,000. Contractor license, building classification (BC-A, BC, BC-B): the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.

12
  1. 1HI · Home Improvement license (nine counties) time not stated
  2. 2BC · Contractor license, building classification (BC-A, BC, BC-B) time not stated
Issued by
Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors
Top credential
Contractor license, building classification (BC-A, BC, BC-B)
Time to top
time not stated
Exams
1 of 2 levels
Reciprocity
none named

License levels in Tennessee

The Tennessee path has 2 steps on this page: Home Improvement license (nine counties) and Contractor license, building classification (BC-A, BC, BC-B).

LevelExperienceClassroomTime from startExamFees
HI Home Improvement license (nine counties)none stated—time not statedNot statedNot printed
BC Contractor license, building classification (BC-A, BC, BC-B)none stated—time not statedYes (PSI)Not printed

Home Improvement license (nine counties) (HI)

Required in the nine listed counties for remodeling projects from $3,000 to less than $25,000. Contractors holding a BC-A, BC or BC-B classification are exempt. Source: TN Board for Licensing Contractors, Other licenses regulated.

Contractor license, building classification (BC-A, BC, BC-B) (BC)

Required for projects of $25,000 or more. Contractor exams are given only by PSI; an exam prep class is not required. Source: TN Board for Licensing Contractors, Other licenses regulated.

Exam

1 of the 2 levels listed here requires an exam: Contractor license, building classification (BC-A, BC, BC-B). The source does not print a pass mark. Testing vendor named: PSI.

Fees

The Tennessee source read prints no dollar amounts for this license. The page read prints no fee amounts.

When a license is needed: The state contractor license applies to projects of $25,000 or more, counting materials and labor; projects cannot be split into phases to stay under the threshold. (TN, Who needs a Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE) license?)

Reciprocity

The Tennessee sources read for this trade name no reciprocity agreement and no route for out-of-state licensees.

Seen from the other side: Alabama lists Tennessee among its partners on its own board page (Alabama). Each state applies its own conditions, so read both pages.

How Tennessee compares

Tennessee's source states no minimum time for the contractor license, building classification (bc-a, bc, bc-b), so it is not ranked against the other states on this site.

South Carolina2 yearsMassachusetts3 yearsCalifornia4 yearsFlorida4 yearsArizona4 yearsHawaii4 yearsNevada4 yearsVirginia5 years
Minimum years to the top general contractor credential in each state that states one; Tennessee highlighted. Bars are to scale; states whose source gives no floor are not drawn.

Same trade elsewhere: California · Florida · Pennsylvania · North Carolina · Michigan. All states side by side: General contractor license requirements by state.

Other trades in Tennessee

All covered trades on one page: Tennessee trade licenses.

Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · How trade license exams work.

Questions

Who issues the general contractor license in Tennessee?

Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors, Department of Commerce and Insurance. A state contractor license with a building classification (BC-A residential, BC or BC-B commercial) covers projects of $25,000 or more. In Bradley, Davidson, Hamilton, Haywood, Knox, Marion, Robertson, Rutherford and Shelby counties, a separate Home Improvement license covers remodeling projects from $3,000 to under $25,000.

How long does it take to qualify for the Contractor license, building classification (BC-A, BC, BC-B) in Tennessee?

The source read (TN Board for Licensing Contractors, Other licenses regulated) states no minimum time for the Contractor license, building classification (BC-A, BC, BC-B). Required for projects of $25,000 or more. Contractor exams are given only by PSI; an exam prep class is not required.

Does Tennessee have general contractor license reciprocity?

The Tennessee sources read name no reciprocity agreement for this trade.

Sources and last checked

WhatSourceChecked
Issuing authorityTennessee Board for Licensing Contractors, Department of Commerce and Insurance2026-10-21
HI requirementsTN Board for Licensing Contractors, Other licenses regulated2026-10-21
BC requirementsTN Board for Licensing Contractors, Other licenses regulated2026-10-21
Law citedBoard for Licensing Contractors, Other licenses regulated (statute not read)2026-10-21

This page summarises what the Tennessee source said on 2026-10-21. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.