Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors · checked 2026-10-21
Tennessee Plumber License Requirements
The state issues the Limited Licensed Plumber (LLP) for projects under $25,000 and a contractor license with a plumbing classification for larger projects; in both cases local permits and local licensing requirements, such as local exams and fees, still apply. Contractor license, plumbing classification: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
- 1LLP · Limited Licensed Plumber time not stated
- 2CMC · Contractor license, plumbing classification time not stated
License levels in Tennessee
The Tennessee path has 2 steps on this page: Limited Licensed Plumber and Contractor license, plumbing classification.
| Level | Experience | Classroom | Time from start | Exam | Fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LLP Limited Licensed Plumber | none stated | — | time not stated | Not stated | Not printed |
| CMC Contractor license, plumbing classification | none stated | — | time not stated | Yes (PSI) | Not printed |
Limited Licensed Plumber (LLP)
Required for plumbing projects under $25,000 (since January 1, 2006). The holder must also obtain local permits and meet local licensing requirements such as exams and fees. A contractor with a plumbing classification does not need a separate LLP. Source: TN Board for Licensing Contractors, Other licenses regulated.
Contractor license, plumbing classification (CMC)
A state contractor license with a plumbing classification for projects of $25,000 or more. Contractor exams are given only by PSI, and an exam prep class is not required. Source: TN Board for Licensing Contractors, Other licenses regulated.
Exam
1 of the 2 levels listed here requires an exam: Contractor license, plumbing classification. The source does not print a pass mark. Testing vendor named: PSI.
Fees
The Tennessee source read prints no dollar amounts for this license. The page read prints no fee amounts for the LLP or the contractor license.
When a license is needed: The state contractor license applies to projects of $25,000 or more, counting materials and labor; projects cannot be split into phases to stay under the threshold. (TN, Who needs a Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE) license?)
Reciprocity
The Tennessee sources read for this trade name no reciprocity agreement and no route for out-of-state licensees.
How Tennessee compares
Tennessee's source states no minimum time for the contractor license, plumbing classification, so it is not ranked against the other states on this site.
Same trade elsewhere: California · Texas · Florida · Illinois · Ohio. All states side by side: Plumber license requirements by state.
Other trades in Tennessee
- Electrician: Contractor license, electrical (CE): the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
- HVAC: Contractor license, HVAC (CMC or CMC-C classification): the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
- General contractor: Contractor license, building classification (BC-A, BC, BC-B): the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
All covered trades on one page: Tennessee trade licenses.
Background reading: From apprentice to master: how long each state takes · How trade license exams work.
Questions
Who issues the plumber license in Tennessee?
Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors, Department of Commerce and Insurance. The state issues the Limited Licensed Plumber (LLP) for projects under $25,000 and a contractor license with a plumbing classification for larger projects; in both cases local permits and local licensing requirements, such as local exams and fees, still apply.
How long does it take to qualify for the Contractor license, plumbing classification in Tennessee?
The source read (TN Board for Licensing Contractors, Other licenses regulated) states no minimum time for the Contractor license, plumbing classification. A state contractor license with a plumbing classification for projects of $25,000 or more. Contractor exams are given only by PSI, and an exam prep class is not required.
Does Tennessee have plumber license reciprocity?
The Tennessee sources read name no reciprocity agreement for this trade.
Sources and last checked
| What | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Issuing authority | Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors, Department of Commerce and Insurance | 2026-10-21 |
| LLP requirements | TN Board for Licensing Contractors, Other licenses regulated | 2026-10-21 |
| CMC requirements | TN Board for Licensing Contractors, Other licenses regulated | 2026-10-21 |
| Law cited | Board for Licensing Contractors, Other licenses regulated (statute not read) | 2026-10-21 |
This page summarises what the Tennessee source said on 2026-10-21. It is general information, not legal advice; the board's own page and the statute are the authority and can change. Confirm with Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors before applying. The free official route is the board itself: its page, application forms and staff answer eligibility questions.