Rest of the US · 4 trades verified · checked 2026-10-21
Tennessee trade licenses
Electrician, Plumber, HVAC and General contractor credentials in Tennessee, from the issuing board's page or the statute: who issues each one, the levels, the time it takes and the exam.
| Trade | Issued by | Top credential | Time to top | Exam | Fees printed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electrician | Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors (LLE program) | Contractor license, electrical (CE) | time not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Plumber | Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors | Contractor license, plumbing classification | time not stated | Yes | No |
| HVAC | Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors | Contractor license, HVAC (CMC or CMC-C classification) | time not stated | Yes | No |
| General contractor | Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors | Contractor license, building classification (BC-A, BC, BC-B) | time not stated | Yes | No |
Electrician in Tennessee
Tennessee splits electrical licensing by job size and place. Where a city or county has a codes office, its local license is required at any job size; local licensing uses journeyman and master classes that vary by jurisdiction. The state issues the Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE) for work under $25,000 where the state Division of Fire Protection inspects, and a contractor license with the CE classification for projects of $25,000 or more. Contractor license, electrical (CE): the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
Limited Licensed Electrician — time not stated, exam, license (two years) $50. Contractor license, electrical (CE) — time not stated, exam. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: A state contractor license with the CE classification, required for projects of $25,000 or more. CE holders skip the local exam where there is a codes office but pay local fees and follow local permit rules. Contractor exams are given only by PSI.
Tennessee electrician details · Electrician in every state
Plumber in Tennessee
The state issues the Limited Licensed Plumber (LLP) for projects under $25,000 and a contractor license with a plumbing classification for larger projects; in both cases local permits and local licensing requirements, such as local exams and fees, still apply. Contractor license, plumbing classification: the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
Limited Licensed Plumber — time not stated. Contractor license, plumbing classification — time not stated, exam. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: A state contractor license with a plumbing classification for projects of $25,000 or more. Contractor exams are given only by PSI, and an exam prep class is not required.
Tennessee plumber details · Plumber in every state
HVAC in Tennessee
HVAC projects of $25,000 or more need a state contractor license with the CMC or CMC-C classification, as prime or subcontractor. The state pages read describe no separate state HVAC credential below that amount. Contractor license, HVAC (CMC or CMC-C classification): the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
Contractor license, HVAC (CMC or CMC-C classification) — time not stated, exam. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: Required for HVAC projects of $25,000 or more, as a prime contractor or subcontractor. Contractor exams are given only by PSI; no exam prep class is required.
Tennessee HVAC details · HVAC in every state
General contractor in Tennessee
A state contractor license with a building classification (BC-A residential, BC or BC-B commercial) covers projects of $25,000 or more. In Bradley, Davidson, Hamilton, Haywood, Knox, Marion, Robertson, Rutherford and Shelby counties, a separate Home Improvement license covers remodeling projects from $3,000 to under $25,000. Contractor license, building classification (BC-A, BC, BC-B): the source states no minimum time, plus an exam.
Home Improvement license (nine counties) — time not stated. Contractor license, building classification (BC-A, BC, BC-B) — time not stated, exam. No reciprocity partner is named in the source.
What the top level asks for: Required for projects of $25,000 or more. Contractor exams are given only by PSI; an exam prep class is not required.
Tennessee general contractor details · General contractor in every state
Moving to or from Tennessee
Electrician: no route is named in the source, and Texas and Alabama list Tennessee in return. Plumber: no route is named in the source. HVAC: no route is named in the source. General contractor: no route is named in the source, and Alabama lists Tennessee in return. Conditions differ by board, so read the state page for each trade before relying on a partner list.
Nearby and comparable: Alabama · Arizona · Arkansas · California · Delaware. Guides: how long each state takes · license or registration.
General information from the Tennessee sources on 2026-10-21, not legal advice. Each board is the authority; confirm before applying.